Lamphey was the favourite residence of the Bishops of St David’s, and they built themselves a palatial fortified mansion here, complete with deer park and fishponds.

Before the First World War, Territorial training camps were often held in Lamphey.

The village has a number of other interesting buildings, including a fine example of a medieval round chimney. The mansion of Lamphey Court – former home of the local squire – is now a hotel.

Further reading

An Experience Shared 1939 – 1945 by Vernon Scott.


Mr Ian White, Lamphey Historical Society, The Venison, Lamphey.